I will begin preaching through Habakkuk on Sunday if everything goes according to plan.  It will become the sixth minor prophet I have preached through in the last two years (Amos, Joel, Obadiah, Jonah, Haggai, and Habakkuk) in addition to having taught through Isaiah and Micah in our Sunday School class last Spring.  I had originally planned to preach a topical series on worship after Easter and the four sermons from Habakkuk will be on detriments to worship.  I find it pretty amazing how God works as He molds us into the direction He would have us go.  I have been preparing since early winter for this worship series, but then He drops Habakkuk into my mind.  I will be honest and say that Habakkuk is not a text I have studied that much and so I have been trying to play catch-up.  Yet, as I have studied through Habakkuk I have been humbled by how it fits perfectly into what I have already been thinking through and even more surprising, how it perfectly links to my Holy Week series and Easter Sunday sermon.  I am uncertain why God has led me to the prophets as much as He has lately.  After all, our Community Lenten Series focused around the “prophetic parables” in Hosea and Jeremiah.   However, as Habakkuk so eloquently asserts, God’s timing and purposes are not our own and we must simply rest in them.  I have found two great quotes during my Habakkuk preparation that I thought I would share.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I have and that it will encourage you to take a look at the hinge of the minor prophets—Habakkuk.

“Faith and fact are not always compatible in the world of sense and sight, but that is not the whole world.  There is a world of justice that only God fully comprehends.  His people must accept by faith what they cannot confirm in fact.”
C. H. Bullock

“Such a word from God implies that they turmoil and violence and death in our societies may not be evidence of God’s absence from our lives but instead the witness to his actual working in judgment as he pursues his purpose.  No event in human history, therefore, is to be understood as completely divorced from his lordly action and will.  God is always at work, always involved, always pressing forward toward his kingdom.  But the means by which he chooses to pursue that goal may be as astounding as the destruction of a nation or as incomprehensible as the blood dripping from the figure of a man on a cross.”
Elizabeth Achtemeier

Peace be with you.

